My narrow shoulders and New Look 6154

6154So on a trip to the local Spotlight I found this double knit ponte and while still on my stretch sewing adventure I thought I’d give it a try. So 2 metres of fabric later and I’m searching through my pattern stash, which is huge, to find something simple but pretty. I’ve been wanting to try New Look 6154 for ages so decided to give it a go. The square neckline was appealing, much like the Nicole Miller Jersey dress shown and the design seemed simple enough for a heavier dress fabric.

So after cutting the fabric, instead of applying facing, I’ve done banding on the neckline edges, due to my unusual small shape before cutting I pivoted fullness out of the back neckline into the armhole and also from the front neckline then, 1 broken overlocker needle and a whole lot of running around town to replace it later, I’ve got the sleeves in and side seams done, Now for the fitting…….and we’re doing adjustments.

I have narrow shoulders compared to the size I generally make so I’m now unpicking and resetting my shoulders. Pictures below show my shoulders before altering, one with pins where the new seam will be and one without.NewLook

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/42713896442618922/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/42713896442618922/
Leave a Reply

